As we are still in our testing stage, we may add new elements to the below policy as our site evolves and we near our 2021 launch. But one thing will never change: our commitment to safeguard our users’ life stories as if they were our own.
There is nothing more personal than a life story. For this reason and so many others, we want to do everything we can to make you feel comfortable using our site. It’s important to us not only to protect your privacy, but to make sure you understand how we do so.
For one thing, we will never view your videos, unless we are asked to do so for troubleshooting purposes. We will also never share them, sell them, or use them for public promotional purposes without your express written consent. This will never change.
- We will not contact you for any unauthorized reason. In other words, if you have signed up to be a test user, we will only contact you about testing the site or possibly to respond to you if you’ve submitted feedback. If you’ve sent us a question, we will reply to your question. But we won’t contact you if you haven’t signed up for testing or updates, or reached out to us for help.
- We will never share the information you share with us, period. We collect it only with your knowledge and consent via your sign-up/profile creation, and we’re collecting some “demo info,” like your age, location, and gender, only to learn more about who our other potential users may be when we launch. We will not share (or sell) any of those details, including your email address, with anyone at all, unless compelled to do so by law.
- The Kinfo website runs via a server that is both physically secured from tampering and behind a wall of protective encryption. The videos you create are stored within our secure S3 data vault, and cannot be accessed by anyone other than you or your named “legacy surrogate” (or an approved Kinfo team member, if and only if we are asked to view the videos to help troubleshoot an issue). We do not store, use, or share any sensitive information, such as social security numbers, personal data, or credit card information.
- Only authorized users (people with whom you’ve shared your videos) can view them. When you are ready to share your videos, you will submit a name and email address for each authorized user, and they will get an email inviting them to view your videos. As an extra measure of protection, that person will have to sign up for an account in order to view your videos. In order to sign up, they must agree to not share your videos with anyone else; if it’s reported that they’ve done so, their account will be revoked. You control how you share your story.
By continuing to use our website, you are indicating your acceptance of our privacy practices as noted above. If you have any questions, please reach out at email@example.com.
This policy is effective as of November 1, 2020.